Telkomsel extends 5G network to five new cities

Telkomsel extends 5G network to five new cities

Indonesia’s Telkomsel has extended its 5G coverage to the cities of Bandung, Batam, Denpasar, Makassar and Surabaya.

Last week, the operator launched its commercial 5G offering in three cities (Balikpapan, Medan and Surakarta) with the promise that it would expand the services gradually. It already appears to be delivering on this claim.

Telkomsel stated that its 5G services will encourage “the strengthening of the cross-sector digital ecosystem by presenting digital lifestyle solutions” within Indonesia.

As reported by TeleGeography, the network is accessible via devices that support NSA (non-standalone) technology in the 2300MHz band, including widely available models from Huawei, Oppo and Vivo.

IndoTelko reports that Telkomsel has also signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with Schneider Electric for greater cooperation on digital transformation in Indonesia. The firms plan to collaborate on a number of 5G trial initiatives.